Hey UG'ers...

Im new to bass guitar...

I wanted to know of some good light weight bass guitars for heavy metal...
also which is good for heavy metal, pbass or jazz bass?

thx in advance

\m/
Lightweight for metal... the first thing that comes to mind in an Ibanez SR.

P basses and J basses would both be fine for metal.
Quote by UraniYum
Fuck you I'm trying to be caring and shit

Quote by Cb4rabid
Okay guys, I have a confession to make. Not really a confession since it's something that's been bugging me for awhile but I've always been in denial about it.

**** you gilly, it's not what you think
Ibanez SR are pretty light.
Damn it! Disable can't use disable to disable Disable's disable because disable's disable has already been disabled by Disable's disable!
Yamaha RBX4 or RBX5. Light as a feather and they play very well.
"Maybe this world is another planet's hell?" - Aldous Huxley
The best lightweight bass for metal is and always will be one thats pointy.

I kid, I kid. P bass man, you can't beat that growl.
Quote by FatalGear41
In the end, the only question is: what bass would Jesus play?

I think he's a Fender Jazz guy.
P and J basses aren't exactly light.

You're better off going for an active bass. Passive basses are usually (note, i said usually) quite heavy, as most of the tone comes from the woods it's made from, and in order make the most of it the bodies are usually larger to let the sound resonate more. Active basses have a pre amp built in to shape the tone, so don't necessarily need to quite so big and heavy.

I'd recommend looking at Spectors, they have a great snarly tone for metal and are quite light weight.
Quote by skater dan0
Damn you and your ninja-like modding
i would recommend the aerodyne jazz bass if you can afford it. it is a great lightweight bass that sounds amazing.

also ibanez SRs and spectors are nice and light aswell.
My Setup:
Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass,
Fender USA Jazz Bass
Hartke LH1000,
Hartke Hydrive 410,
Sansamp BDDI,