Hey guys,

I posted a few days ago about my search for a new amplifier. I've been playing a Hughes and Kettner Trilogy for a few years now and I probably should have changed because I find it just doesn't suit the sound I'm going for. I find that -

- The high frequency attack on the clean channel is too aggressive
- The Crunch channel sounds quite middy\muddy
- The ultra lead channel sounds great but a little muddy and harsh
- Effects sound muddy

So I've decided to try something new. I mostly play post-rock\progressive stuff with pretty cleans and heavy leads. I want something that sounds smooth.

I know everybody has personal tastes but I just wondered what experiences other people have and recomend. I know I could go down to a guitar shop and try one out but that just isn't enough for me because the only way to really know is by taking that amp to practice with my band and spending a few hours with it.

So far I've been considering an engl fireball 100. Thats at the top of my list as its within my budget of about £1000 and after listening\watching the demos it sounds right up my street.

Anyway thanks in advance guys!
Ampeg V-4/Sunn Model T would be my choices for this sort of thing if you can find either of them.
Last edited by The Last Dandy at Apr 24, 2011,
check out an engl powerball as well. scale the summit uses those and it kinda sounds like you're describing a tone similar to theirs
Originally posted by primusfan
When you crank up the gain to 10 and switch to the lead channel, it actually sounds like you are unjustifiably bombing an innocent foreign land.

╠═══════╬═══════╣
τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ
╠═══════╬═══════╣
try a framus cobra? killswitch engage uses them
Quote by Cracked.com
Then they torched an Apple Store and made a PowerPoint about their experiences.
Quote by The Last Dandy
Ampeg V-4/Sunn Model T would be my choices for this sort of thing if you can find either of them.