Hi all! I'm a beginner and I really want to get into classical guitar playing. I've been looking at classical guitar performances and I've noticed that sometimes the guitarists "wiggle" their finger on a note, as if to emphasize or sustain that note. What exactly does that "wiggle" do? It's not exactly a vibrato, because they aren't pulling up or down on the string, but it seems like they are wiggling the finger left to right (I might be wrong about this).

Also, do you all have any tips on how to sing while playing the guitar? I simply cannot do it to save my life. Any baby steps to help me get started will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Well you said yourself you're a beginner, so the best advice i could give you is to just practise. You'll get there don't worry.

As for the "wiggle". I've seen it done by players like Steve Vai etc, and i don't listen to too much classical guitar, so i don't really know what exactly it is. I assume it's just another type of vibrato.
It's akin to the way vibrato is performed on bowed string instruments such as violin, though the effect is somewhat diminished due to the fact that a guitar has frets.
Thanks for the replies! Yeah I've been experimenting with the wiggling, and to be honest I can't really hear the vibrato. I'll just have to keep on playing till I get it.

Another question: Does anyone know of any beginner flamenco songs? I love the way latin guitarists play, with all that big hand sweeps and stuff, and I'd love to get into that too.
Just noticed there was a Acoustic/classical section of the forum. Sorry for posting in the wrong section. If somebody would move my thread, it'd be greatly appreciated.
It's vibrato and it can get very violent if you know how to treat it (of course, it won't be as violent as a rock or blues vibrato but you can get quite aggressive vibrato from it).

It does help sustain a little bit but for the most part, it's used to emphasise a note rather than prolong the note's sustain.