2 questions, how do I go about getting the key of a song that's just riffage (not open spam), do I get all the notes then see which key they all fit into, or should I make simple chords behind them (with keeping it in the same key) and then just find the key that those chords are in.

Also how do you know when the key of a song has changed, because I'm still a beginner at distinguishing key changes so if its not blatantly obvious theres been a key change I'm clueless about it.
Gear
- Synyster Schecter Standard
- Peavey Vyper 15

I'm currently using Cubase 5 for any recording purposes.
try to see which note it feels home in
the notes way works but if the song has aot of accidentals it might throw you off

and if a song changes key you can usually hear a shift from the usuall
I actually figure out which chords are in the song, and then go from there for the key.

Also, if you are at home at your computer, maybe look up the bass tabs, and see what notes they have. It's a lot more basic, and easier to find the key, I find.
I see myself as an intelligent, sensitive human, with the soul of a clown which forces me to blow it at the most important moments.
-Jim Morrison
ok thanks I was just wondering about the key change because I tried finding the key for this one song (dear god by a7x) when I was just starting with theory like 4 months back. None of the chords matched together so I thought it was probably a bunch of key changes but the song flows so well so I don't know how to get the key for songs like that.
Gear
- Synyster Schecter Standard
- Peavey Vyper 15

I'm currently using Cubase 5 for any recording purposes.
Quote by !Mike!