Hello,
I have been playing guitar for almost six years now, but just a couple months ago, I started slide guitar. I picked it up relatively quickly, and now I want to start writing some songs that have bluesy slide leads in them. However, for the life of me, I just can't write anything that sounds good, as I am so used to writing leads for, I guess "normal" guitar. I was just wondering are there any specific scales or techniques I'm missing (I'm in Open E tuning as well).

Thank you for your response.
I'm just like the Jonas Brothers,

I'm no longer relevant and write mediocre music.

Best universal tip for all styles is "look at some songs you like the sound of and deconstruct how,where,why,when to use techniques".

If it's solo slide guitar, think rythmicly
If it's soloing with a slide guitar, don't overuse it
Quote by Silent Murder
Best universal tip for all styles is "look at some songs you like the sound of and deconstruct how,where,why,when to use techniques".

If it's solo slide guitar, think rythmicly
If it's soloing with a slide guitar, don't overuse it

Okay, thanks. And that was one of the problems I had at the start, when I was blending slide guitar with the rest of my solo I was overusing it. Luckily I got over that. Once again, thank you.
I'm just like the Jonas Brothers,

I'm no longer relevant and write mediocre music.

there isn't anything you're missing except a better understanding of melody. Study some vocalists you like. It's ALL about melody. No trick, you just have to hear it. Open E is great.

--m
www.knobtwiddler.net
Yeah, it's all about melody. If you like The Allman Brothers, try looking up Statesboro Blues and Memory of Elizabeth Reed. Duane was a master at improvising great melodies (All in open E as well)