Hey guys,

I've been playing guitar for about 10 months. As a beginner I got roped into buying a spider line 6 IV 15. I've put up with it for long enough, I hate it a lot. I'm heading off to university in the fall and looking to buy a new amp and guitar.

I play mostly death metal and melodeath I.E Quo vadis, dark tranquility, wintersun, ensiferum, wolfchant, neuraxis, in flames etc... However I also enjoy playing thrash (mostly the Big 4) and classic rock.

As far as the amp goes, my price range is $300-$400. I don't really know much about equipment. I'm looking for something that gives a nice distortion sound for the range of metal I like to play. IDK whether that means getting an amp + distortion pedal, or an amp that has distortion built in or w/e. It would preferrably be good for playing at low volumes in a dorm room but able to handle gigs decently as well.

As far as guitars go my price range is $600-$900 dollars. I am currently leaning towards an Ibanez XPT700, a Jackson KE3 Kelly or basically a higher end Jackson Dinky than what I have now. Of course I'd like something that's suited towards producing a shred/metal sound.

Thanks in advance for any help and if there's any extra information you need to help me out just let me know and I will be more than willing to oblige.

FYI I know I already posted this in the metal thread, I just feel like I'll get more exposure making my own thread.
buy a better amp, not a guitar...thats your problem...the amp with effect tone more than the guitar will

for guitar:
Ibanez S570DXQm - 650$
ESP LTD FX-360 (BADASS guitar) - 550-650$
Jackson Rhoades - something around 700$ i think

amp...ahh...hmm... DEFINITELY look for used stuff...you miiiight be able to get a Peavey 6505 combo used for that much...but its very doubtful...maybe something like a Valveking? or something like that...

-Jet City 20 head/cab with a distortion pedal or something of that nature