what exactly are the catch with Tube Amps? I know they sound amazing, but what i very rarely hear is the downsides of owning a Tube Amp. How often is it nessecary to change tubes? How much to tubes generally cost? Are tube amps prone to break within a year and half of owning? Are Tube amps bad for transporting (Ex, will the tubes possibly break if you transport it alot)?

I hear good things about tubes non-stop, but i never actually hear the downsides of them...maybe because there isnt...idk...im new to the whole tube amp world...but i do know that i want to know the pro's and cons of owning a tube before i dump 800$+ on one

thanks for any help you give.
Rig:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Amp- Blackstar HT-60 Soloist
Digitech Rp355

I look like this-
The main downside is that you never stop spending money trying out different tube combinations or replacing power tubes you burn out.

I'd say the benefits greatly outweigh the costs.
Everyone is entitled to an opinion.

Feel free to express yours so I can make an informed judgement about how stupid you are.
yeah, AM is right.

i mean there is no downside to falatio... tube amps are kinda like that.
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
Power tubes will last at most two years, while pre-amp tubes will last LONG time, years and years. They won't break while transporting unless you're an idiot with it, don't store drinks on top and the like. In my opinion the only reason SS amps are considered sturdier is because they don't have tubes.

For the genres you're doing, you'll want a tube amp. There's a reason they are so common in post practice-amp price range.
Quote by gumbilicious
yeah, AM is right.

i mean there is no downside to falatio... tube amps are kinda like that.

Tube amps are like fellatio with the dentures out.

Awwww yeeeaahh.

Quote by Frank_Black