Hey everyone,

I'm a complete beginner, never even touched a guitar before and looking to learn how. I guess that means I'm in the market for everything that's required to actually play the guitar.

In terms of musical tastes, I don't have any bands that I particularly like but from various youtube videos and such I believe punk rock would be close to what I'm trying to go for.

I recently moved to Hong Kong so certain stores that this site references a lot like Guitar Center aren't really applicable to me. I believe the only real chain here is Tom Lee. My budget for everything is around 8k HKD, somewhere around $1000 USD. I would rather not go above that amount and to be honest I'd rather be well under that but from what I've read it's better to get something halfway decent as a first guitar. If enough good points are given for a particular setup that's over that amount I can push for another few thousand though.

I only have two real requirement for gear. One is the guitar, it has to be left handed. I've heard a lot of people mention before that for beginners they should try to get used to right handed guitars for versatility in gear choices but I'd rather stick with the left hand. The second requirement I have is the amp. I live in an apartment so I can't really play loud music with an amplifier and risk having my neighbors storm in on me with pitchforks. Is there anything I can use like a pair of headphones instead? That or an amplifier that allows for me to plug in headphones. As a more minor thing, it would be great if the amp wasn't huge. I've seem some of the amps that seem to be as big as a small desk, rather not use up that much space given my small living quarters.

Other than that I'm not quite sure what else I need. I'm guessing gig bag, stand, guitar, strap, amp, picks, cables?