Is Guitar Pro worth it for someone starting out? I have been playing for just under 6 months and am teaching myself. I have gotten pretty good at chord progressions and am learning the basic scales. I am also trying to get a few songs down good.

Is Guitar Pro a helpfull tool at this stage? Will it help me practice better?

This is the worlds greatest sig line ever!!
Tuxguitar.
Quote by theogonia777
and then there's free jazz, which isn't even for musicians.

Quote by Born A Fool
As my old guitar teacher once said: Metal really comes from classical music. The only difference is pinch harmonics, double bass, and lyrics about killing goats.
Quote by redwhite.
Is Guitar Pro worth it for someone starting out? I have been playing for just under 6 months and am teaching myself. I have gotten pretty good at chord progressions and am learning the basic scales. I am also trying to get a few songs down good.

Tl;dr: Yes, yes, and yes.

I've been using guitar pro for a while now and it's certainly helped me, especially for learning songs, cause you can slow down and loop sections of songs you're stuck at or whatever, but I imagine most tab software can do that.
Tuxguitar is opensource, so it's free
and it also supports Power Tabs and all types of Guitar Pro files.
its much better for a starter
I would say yes...

For me personally I cant use it to learn songs. I tend to play along with it and instead of having to memorize the parts I just sight read them and dont actually learn anything. But to each their own, i know alot of people who only learn songs from guitar pro.

But when it comes to thinking of a great little melody and wanting to write it out quickly before you forget. Guitar pro is amazing, I have a folder on my computer with hundreds of little licks I've come up with and can go through anytime I want. Instead of just forgetting them a couple hours later.

That alone is worth $50 to me!
Quote by MetlHed94

Well played, sir, well played.