Page 1 of 2
Hello,
I'm new to guitar playing (I've beeen playing for 10 weeks actually); and I started with a classic guitar (paid 45€, so it couldn't be that cool)...but I'm aiming to play mostly metal/rock music, so I'm looking forward to buy an electric guitar this summer.

The problem is that I don't know much about it; how to choose one, which "parts" are more important (I mean, which parts do you check the quality of first); which ampli for which guitar and so on.

So, if please someone would be so patient to explain me about this stuff, it'll be very welcome.

Thanks and sorry for bad english
What kinds of music do you plan on playing? Rock, metal, blues, other? A lot of other info is needed but this is a good start.
All the parts are very important, but the most important are probably the pickups. These are what send the sound the guitar string is making to the amp. But still don't forget about the other parts. There are two types of pickups - active and passive. Active is battery powered and passive uses the power of the amp. I personally like the sound of passive pickups better.

There are also 2 types of amps - solid state and tube. The difference between these is like the difference between digital and analog. Tube amps are more expensive but in my opinion sound better. Solid state is found in every price range. To start out I would get at least a 30 watt amplifier for solid state or at least 10 watts for tube.

If you want to play rock and metal then you need equipment made for rock and metal. Some brands I would check out are Ibanez, EMG, and Jackson. For an amp I would check out Randall, Marshall, Peavey, and Line 6. Do not buy a new guitar or amp for under $200 (140 euros) because they are generally a waste of money. You may also want to consider getting a or a few effects pedals to get some awesome sound. But in the end my advice is to go to the music store and try a guitar paired with an amp and buy what sounds best to you.