I just made a deal with a guy on a local classified website. I'm just getting into electric guitar and I wanted a small cheap amp to practice on.

We agreed on $80 for his used Peavey Rage 158. Today, he messaged me and said, "I have someone paying $100 for it tomorrow, but I guess I can give it to you tonight for $90. You should know it retails for like $180."

Is that true? I can't seem to find a decent retail value on the amp, prices are all over the place. I'm a little irritated with the guy for pullin' that on me after he said it was mine.
"Because hoes don't trust anyone.. especially me."
Yeah that's what I thought?!

(By the way I apologize, I now realize I should have posted this in guitar gear)
Yes. Even if he isn't lying, if he agreed to sell to you he has no right hearing additional offers after you've made the agreement. Do not do business with this guy - retract your offer and look somewhere else. If he throws a fit because you previosly agreed on $80, tell him that he agreed not to look for better offers. Plus, $80 is too much.
Gibson SG Standard
Orange Rocker 30 combo
Fulltone OCD
EH Holy Grail
Tell him you'll pay $70 tomorrow. He's trying to nickle and dime you, like you said.
MY GEAR:
PRS SE Custom 24
Jackson DKA7
Gibson Explorer
MESA/Boogie Express 5:25
BOSS GT-100

BOSS TU-2
Dunlop Cry Baby Classic
BOSS NS-2
VOX Joe Satriani Ice 9 OD Pedal
VOX Joe Satriani Time Machine Delay Pedal
Ernie Ball Strings
V Picks
You're getting ripped off. If you have 80 dollars to spend on a practice amp, there are much better choices than a Peavey Rage. Try the Roland Microcube, Peavey Vypyr, Vox AD or Fender Mustang. They're fairly common and you should be able to find a used one.