Hello there. I've been playing guitar for 2 years now. I play mostly lead. I have most the techniques down now to a pretty decent speed and standard, yet my legato i would say is on a much weaker level than all my other techniques.

I feel like it's almost as though i don't completely understand legato or something. For lack of a better definition, i believe it's just like fluent playing with use of almost completely hammerons and pulloffs, so assuming legato is done right you wouldn't need your strumming hand at all.

I feel i'm incredibly inconsistant and inaccurate when it comes to anything more than triplets. I think i'm quite fantastic at triplets infact and anything less, but when it comes to using more than 2 fingers in a legato sort of lick my ability just plummets. Like i said before, i think sometimes i might not even understand what exactly i'm supposed to do.

This lick for example:

17-p15-p12--------------12--17-p15-p12--------------------------|
--------------- -17-p15------------------------------17-p15-p12----|

It's part of the 3rd solo in Sanitarium by Metallica. For the life of me i cannot do it. even at a tempo of like 20% i struggle to play it.

I ended up just improvising a little and creating a sweeping lick somewhat similar because i can play it quite easy up to tempo.

I realise i'm not making the best of sense here because i'm having difficulty explaining what exactly my problem is, but if anyone can understand the concept i'm trying to grasp here or understand my problem, any sort of help would be appreciated. And if anyone knows a good sort of exercise to help me out that'd great.

Thank you (:
Not got any advice, but I need to watch this thread as I have the same problem.
I have faced problem on this exact lick cause it is a little wide and it needs some stretching. I solved it by changing the fingering to this
17---p15------------------------------17---p15---------------------------