Hello all. I'm a beginner guitar "player" and got my electric a few weeks ago, along with a DVD.
My problem : I was learning about the guitar as normal, learning the notes on the strings, metronome and some simple excercises like going from the 5th to the 8th string on each string. Basically, after that the tutori on the DVD seemed to not even want to teach. It was a pretty terrible DVD infact. It didn't even show the fretboard close up most of the time.

So I recently bought Fender Presents Getting Started On Electric Guitar. A much better purchase. Keith Wyatt actually has enthuisiasm.

The thing is, well, the first thing he teaches is power chords and I'm wondering if that is even something a beginner, who has only played some warm up excercises, can do.

It's been about 5 weeks since I've got guitar and I can only really explain some music method, explain a metronome, play along with it and all the really basic stuff.

Where should I really start? I mean is chords okay to learn for a very beginner?
Chords are great to learn !

You can throw three power chords together and record that for a few minutes and then play a bit of lead over it

You can learn to switch between three open chords and impress girls by saying you wrote them a song!
my first song that i learned back years ago was brain stew by green day. after that was holiday, followed by a system of a down song called hypnotize.
Internet trolls are like sap in trees. sticky and annoying, but good on pancakes.
Yeah...thanks but instead of saying what songs you played what did you first learn on guitar?
Yeah don't be intimidated, one of the first thing's my guitar teacher got me doing was switching between a few chords, it's a good way to work on a bit of finger strength and finger positioning early on

Can seem intimidating but once you get them down they're a really important and powerful thing to know

Pretty sure the first chord I got taught was E !