Hi, I'm just learning to play guitar and I already know how to play some chords and the song wonderwall, and i just want to know what you guys think is the best pick width for strumming. I've played a few different widths and i can tell you that thin picks are easier to strum with while heavy picks have a more full sound.
which do you think are better for strumming chords, and are there any specific brand picks that are better than others?
i know this is only a small detail and it doesn't really matter so please don't mention that
Go to the store, buy a bunch of different widths and brands, and use them all. See what fits you better. Its all about how you feel is better, honestly
Jim Dunlop makes these white gripped picks (.46 I think) so they are super thin, I use them for strumming (they were recommended by a friend who plays on acoustic). It gives the guitar a nice mellow sound.

As for thick, I don't play a lot of acoustic; the thickest picks I use are the red Jazz IIIs, but they are really small and take some getting used to. You should take a look at the Dunlop gripped picks, they are easy to use and sound great.

As for brands, I've always used Dunlop for their variety, but im sure other brands are just as good.
there is no "best" pick - everyone has their own preferences both in feel and tone. my husband uses 2mm picks, which are heavier than most heavy and extra heavy picks and have no give when you use them. i mostly use my fingers, but i prefer either 2mm big stubbies for bass or various triangle picks with some give for guitar. i used to like dunlop jazz 3's but they're small and harder to hold.
Quote by Skeet UK
I just looked in my Oxford English Dictionary and under "Acoustic Guitar", there was your Avatar and an email address!
I've found I've wanted thicker and thicker picks as I have grown as a player. I rarely use anything smaller than a 1.0 mm Dunlop now, and I really like the 1.14 mm Dunlops for playing lead.

Gear: