Hey,

THIS ISN'T REALLY NECESSARY TO ANSWER THE QUESTION, IF YOU CBA READING IT JUST SKIP TO THE NEXT BLOCK OF CAPS

I just joined this forum mainly to ask a few questions, but I can see myself sticking around hopefully. I'm actually a drummer first, guitarist second but I'm getting more and more into guitar and am really looking to improve now.

I was reading through the posts you seem to have a ridiculous amount of 'I have this much what should I buy?' threads, which personally I find a bit daft, because in the end people rarely listen to what's said and just go and buy what they wanted in the first place usually.

Anyway, I currently have some money to spend, but I want some advice on a few people who know more on the subject.

My current setup is an Epiphone SG, was my first guitar, a crappy Korg multi-FX pedal that sounds horrible, and a Marshall MG15 practice amp. Pretty standard stuff. Did the job for me to learn the basics on.

A few weeks back my best friend got a ESP LTD H-1000, and when I played it I knew I had to upgrade. I've never been one for just trying out other guitars so this was the first decent guitar I'd ever really played. So, I've decided that I'm going to go for an LTD EC-1000 VB (http://goo.gl/sgAcR). I love the look and feel of the guitar, the fretboard feels like fingering on ice compared to what I'm playing, and it sounds gorgeous (although obviously part of that was down to the setup at the shop which was significantly more expensive than would be clever of me to spend at my skill level.

My musical taste is quite wide, but I play mostly metal and heavy rock on guitar, so I thought I'd go for something with active pickups, and I tried it out today and the clean tone is still really nice, maybe just not as warm as some of the less 'metal' guitars in the price range.

So, I realised if I'm going to spend all this money on a lovely new guitar, it's going to sound pretty crappy though a cheap ass amp and a cheap ass FX pedal.