I've been playing for around 4 years, only this year have I been trying to learn guitar solos. Mostly from Megadeth, Iron Maiden and Metallica. No matter how hard I try, I can't play them properly. I usually just go straight in and start trying to play them full speed. The only solos I can play almost flawlessly are from A Tout Le Monde, Fade To Black and the two from Blood Brothers by Iron Maiden. What can I do to improve the solos and how can I learn them better?
break the solo's down into simple sections then perfect each section. Then put it all togethor.
sigh...
break them into sections, bars and practice them until you can get it then move on to the next section. string them together and you should see that mastering some of the more difficult parts will become easier and thus the solo should come together.
Gibson LP traditional and DC standard, PRS S2 Custom 24, MIA Standard Strat, Charvel So Cal Pro Mod, Schecter Banshee 7
EVH 5153, Mesa DR Tremoverb combo 2-2x12's
Line 6 M13
I'm going to sound redundant, but take every solo bar by bar, phrase by phrase, lick by lick. Play with a metronome, start slow, and build up. Accuracy =/= speed. For bands like Megadeth or Metallica, I wouldn't really strive for being note perfect. On the classic albums, Hammett's phrasing is more about fast licks tied together by melodies, and Mustaine always shoots from the hip. You'd probably get more out of it by learning the key parts and doing your own shit around that.

I can understand wanting to learn them note perfect, but if I were you, I'd only do that with solos that speak to me, which you seem to do well judging by the solos you already have down.