So I've tried changing the bridge pup on my 7 to a SD blackout and I'm not really happy with the tone I'm getting out of it so I was wondering what pickup has really punchy mids but doesn't emphasize lower mids (like the blackout). I've looked at some Bare Knuckle pickups but they're too expensive for my budget. I'm only 14 so I don't have a job but will be getting paid this weekend for yard work I'm not sure how much but I doubt over $100. Any suggestions are welcome. I'd rather not have actives though because they usually don't stay clean on lower wattage amps.
Just remember, we all used to be the kid who tried to play metal with a stratocaster and a line 6 spider amp.
mostly djent or tight metal. My dream tone is almost like the system of a down hypnotize/mezmerize album but I know its almost impossible with low tunings like A or G
Just remember, we all used to be the kid who tried to play metal with a stratocaster and a line 6 spider amp.
Djent?
Lundgren M7.
I have no experience with it but samples I heard online of guys using it through their PODXTs made me cream my pants. And I'm NOT a djent-o-maniac.
Dimarzio D-Sonic or Crunchlab. Way cheaper than those botique, European pickups, and they do the djob djust as well for playing djent.

Keep in mind a huuuge part of getting a "djent"-y tone is technique and amp settings.

EDIT: And after I got my RG570, I went looking for used Dimarzio pickups. I found a Crunchlab/Liquifire set for $80+shipping on Guitar Center's used site.
Last edited by Pac_man0123 at Apr 29, 2011,