I've always had this problem. I think I'm a decent singer, and I can play guitar and bass just fine with great timing, but I've never been able to sing and play at the same time. I can do it if I'm just playing whole notes, or if the rhythms are similar or at least really simple.

I feel like it may be because when I started playing guitar, I didn't sing at all. I focused all of my attention on my hands playing guitar. Now, when I try to sing, I have a lot of trouble diverting my attention to both. If I practice a riff so long that it I don't even have to think about it to play it, I can sing over it slightly better, but I always mess up bad enough that I have to stop and think about where I am. I'll mess up even from thinking of the vocals in my head without singing anything. I can't talk while I'm playing either, or my hands will get mixed up.

Whats really frustrating is that it appears as though some people can just naturally do it. I feel like that can't be the case... there has to be something I'm just not fully comprehending or something. Maybe I'm trippin and I just suck.

Anybody have some advice? Do I need to just practice my ****ing ass off or is there an easier way to approach this?
I play guitar in a funky death metal band called Lobotomizer. Listen to our demo here.
I also slap the bass and I'm learning how to tame the sax.
I go to school at Ex'pression College for Digital Arts. Any questions about it? Ask me.
Practicing your ass off is probably the best way. I would know both the vocal and the guitar parts absolutely inside out, play-em-in-your sleep, without having to think about it. Also, practice singing and playing together, but slowly. Get the rhythm down, the way the words combine with the riffs, and where they deviate.