Well, I have been playing guitar since April 2009, and I played Metallica songs for a long time. I can do the rhythm track from several of their songs, among a handful of pretty easy solos, like the outro to Fade to Black.
I am into hard rock and heavy metal.

For the past 3 months, I don't think I learned anything new. It's just been picking up the guitar and improvising or doing different random exercises, such as 3 string sweeps or alternate picked runs, or string skipping licks, etc etc, for a very short time, what with studies and keeping up my grades...
Obviously I want to learn new song, and I should. However, the problem is:
1) The songs I choose to pick up and play (such as Megadeth's Skin of My Teeth) are tough. They might be too fast for me or too technical.
2) I don't find the songs I pick interesting enough.

If I could pick a song which was appropriate for my skill level, not too tough or too easy, then it would be perfect.
How did you guys decide what songs would be most suited to your needs, when learning guitar in the beginning?
Any tips for me?
Thank you fellas!
Last edited by zuhairreza at Apr 30, 2011,
Pick a song you want to play, and if you can't play it, learn to play it slowly and build up speed. You'll improve technique whilst learning a song you'll enjoy playing.
Quote by metaldood91
Hi. Can someone tell me which guitars are real 24 fret guitars and which are just 22 fret guitars with 2 extra frets added on?

http://www.youtube.com/user/Joeseffel

Quote by smcstoronto1234

So very true...
learning tough songs is one of the most fun things you can do. The only way to get better is to pick songs harder than your skill level and learn them slow and eventually be able to play that song that was harder to put you at a new skill level
i had this for a while,