just curious if i should well i mean if it would help me out any b/c i have been playing for well about 6 years and feel as if i have not moved forward in 2 of those last 6 years and i want to start making my own music but i seem to have trouble finding the right note to just fit in certain places so would music theory help me with these 2 issues?
Yes.

Also, use sentences.
^^The above is a Cryptic Metaphor^^

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity." Everything is made up and the facts don't matter.

MUSIC THEORY LINK
^

i think a basic understanding of punctuation would help you a lot more than theory.
honestly I gotta say this is a pointless question in this thread since most of us would agree that yes you should learn theory, for anyone that asks "should I learn theory". infact I guarentee that most of us already had the answer before even began reading your post.
Quote by Dirk Gently
Some pieces are only meant to be played by people with six fingers on their fretting hand. Sorry.
Last edited by krypticguitar87 at May 2, 2011,
im in the same boat as you. self taught for 6 years, i learnt a little theory a year ago and it has helped a TONNE with writing or tranposing covers.
you're learning a language.

should you learn the alphabet?
should you learn grammar?
should you learn idiomatic tendencies of the language?

if you knew russian and came to america, would you really be content with having to point at things and just use fragments like "cake", "fork", "ball good", etc.?

the only difference is that you can make something sound good without really knowing anything in music. but there are reasons we remember the genius of mozart and beethoven while ace of base and the grateful dead were basically trends.
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.
Yes.
Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything.

—Chick Corea