Wasn't sure to put this in musicians talk or here so sorry if I put it in the wrong section but anyways I was just wondering how you go about making a solo over a song without using any licks, because the solos I make now are just a bunch of recycled licks put together and honestly I can't be proud of my work by doing this. I was watching a friend of mine do a solo then he was like " this is a bunch of diminished blah blah with Eb diminished 7th and a phygrian dominant etc etc"

I do know what these mean (kind of, I'm just starting to learn about the scale degrees and I just finished learning diminished stuff) but I'm wondering do I just get the key of the song then lay out all the notes and make a bunch of chords to apreggiate and scales and etc that can be used with it and see what I like most? Or is there some other way to go about making solos?
Gear
- Synyster Schecter Standard
- Peavey Vyper 15

I'm currently using Cubase 5 for any recording purposes.
slow down and start with a melody first. you know something simple like this:

D|----7-------9-----8--|
A|--0---8~~------------|

then start making small variations as you add little flares between notes....
Quote by Dirk Gently
Some pieces are only meant to be played by people with six fingers on their fretting hand. Sorry.
I'm actually really good with making melodies (I try to make songs as melodic as possible so it usually comes naturally now) but I'm talking like a straight out shredding solo that still sounds good, those are Impossible for me I just never know where to go with the solo.
Gear
- Peavey Vyper 15

Quote by !Mike!
I'm actually really good with making melodies (I try to make songs as melodic as possible so it usually comes naturally now) but I'm talking like a straight out shredding solo that still sounds good, those are Impossible for me I just never know where to go with the solo.

if you cannot make good melodies fast, you cannot make good melodies slow.