Before anything, I'd just like to point out that I am a guitarist, and although I have jammed on basses loads of times, I've never actually owned one, and not being in any band at the moment, I do have a few friends who lack a bassist, and it would be cool to jam along with them, seeing as I was probably going to buy a bass and amp anyways since I do have an organ too, so I do like to diverse on my instrument abilities too.

Moving more to the point, I gave this lecture above just to show the idea about how this is more of just a jamming occupation, so I don't need the best bass/amp. However, since I'm counting on playing with others, they have amps going from 25 to 60 watts of power, so I would need more then just a 10 or 15 watt bass amp too.

Here's what I could so far find (NOTE: I am left-handed, lol):

http://www.musicstore.com/en_EN/EUR/Basses/Lefthanded-models/Jack-Danny-YC-JB-L-Lefthand-3ToneSunburst-/art-BAS0000917-002

http://www.musicstore.com/en_EN/EUR/Fame-Megatone-PL-60B-60-Watt-Transistorcombo-1x12-Speaker/art-BAS0001446-000?recId=279c0bd8-7ec1-4188-9626-f6c5f34f1278&campaign=EPOQ

Basically what I'm asking for help for, is weither anyone could find a cheaper solution to the bass, amp or even both, with the thought that I will need a decent amount of power for the bass.
Since I'm not going to take things too serious with the bass, I need the cheapest solution I can find, since I'm not interested in spending too much.
Have a look on www.thomann.de

Don't knock the Harley Benton stuff they do. I have one of their basses and a 75w that came loaded with a Celestion. It is pretty good stuff for the price.
An Augmented 4th or a Diminished 5th?

Quote by I.O.T.M
You, fine sir, have impeccable taste.

Ahhhh Yuck Fou.