Hiya.

I've come to a stage where it is time to evaluate my own playing. So, lately I have been practicing a lot on my economy/alternate/sweep-picking, and now it has come to bending. I am self-taught, so I have not bothered to put too much time into bending and vibrato, which I regret now, of course.

So, I've noticed that a lot of my bends are a bit off, and so I have steered away from songs involving a lot of bends. And now I feel it is time to start perfecting it. I seem to struggle with the whole "bend - hit next fret" thing, as I've never been very good at the learning by ear part either. So, are there any other ways of practicing bends? Or should I just try a little harder on the "bend - fret" thing(I have put a lot of time into this now, but I am getting nowhere, so I need some help)?

Thank you.
Current Guitar: Gibson SG Special Faded
it's just a matter of getting used to it (everywhere on the fretboard), and actively listening to yourself to make sure you're in pitch. if you get bored of bending exercises (never tried or heard of them, but probably good to start with), learn solos you like to listen to, and just pay more attention to getting the bends right.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
What bend-hit-next-fret thing?

Basically this is about two things - The physical component of bending involves using the thumb over the top and a turning action of the wrist. Support the bending finger as much as possible (eg, if bending with 3, 1 and 2 should be supporting the bend as well!).

The other part is that you have to use your ears to nail the exact pitch. It's just practise if you're doing both of those things.
Quote by Freepower
What bend-hit-next-fret thing?