Im having trouble trying to decide on what electric guitar to buy. I've fallen in love with the Gibson Les Paul Studio 60s tribute, which sells for around $850. Im just not sure if it is a good idea to spend that much money on a guitar when I could get a pretty nice PRS SE and a very good amp for the same price. On the other hand, the Gibson plays nicer than the Korean made PRS, looks better, and is probably better built. What do you think?
you will probably end up getting a mediocre amp at best with the leftover cash, so if you only have the $850 right now I'd be more inclined to spend it on one solid piece, otherwise you will probably end up wanting to replace the 2 cheap pieces with some nicers stuff

if you need a new amp as well just make the purchase at a later date

just my opinion though, I've always liked to try to focus on one piece at a time
I guess i should have also said that this will be my first electric guitar. Ive been playing acoustic for about 4 months now and I'm much better than I thought i was going to be this soon so I am starting to save up for an electric.
Well then i might have to settle for the les paul faded studio. Or maybe ill get lucky and find a used tribute whenever I come up with the cash.
Quote by yankeefool265
Im having trouble trying to decide on what electric guitar to buy. I've fallen in love with the Gibson Les Paul Studio 60s tribute, which sells for around $850. Im just not sure if it is a good idea to spend that much money on a guitar when I could get a pretty nice PRS SE and a very good amp for the same price. On the other hand, the Gibson plays nicer than the Korean made PRS, looks better, and is probably better built. What do you think?

You shoul play both, everyone on this site recommended the PRS SE to me, but I prefer the look of the les paul, and how it sounds, to the SE.

I think the PRS is more of a metal guitar.