Hey All,

Sooo... summer has started and I'm beginning to work and making a decent steady income (spending money ). I've been playing guitar for just over a couple years now and I'm really looking into getting a new acoustic. The one I have is a Washburn Lyon from a starter pack for $150 or sumtin, nothing special at all, although it plays really nice and a few of my friends say it plays better than some more expensive guitars they've tried.

Anyways, that's not the point. I visited the which one should I buy thread in this forum and really found a liking in the Alvarez guitars. They seem to be well made and constructed out of good materials. I really found a liking in the AJ418C model, which is a jumbo cutaway w/ spalted maple sides/back and a solid spruce top w/ rosewood fingerboard (I really think the spalted maple is sexy as hell).

So what I'm asking is have you had any experiences with this guitar? heard any stories? have an Alvarez? Pros and Cons? Anything that would be of help and also, other suggestions within the $600 - $800 price range?

Thanks for all the help!!

TL;DR
Alavarez AJ418C, comments on this guitar and company, also suggestions within same price range.

Pics + Info: http://www.worldmusicnashville.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=161&category_id=128&flypage=flypage.pbv.v5.tpl&page=shop.product_details&product_id=981&vmcchk=1&Itemid=161
GEAR:
Epiphone Les Paul Studio Deluxe
ESP LTD EX-360
Peavey VYPYR 30W

"There's nothing constant in the universe.
All ebb and flow, and every shape that's born,
bears in it's womb, the seeds of change".
Last edited by Maillouxlp18 at May 3, 2011,
Breedlove make a fine guitar in that price range. Epiphone's Masterbuilt models are also superb. Parkers are amazing if you can find one - a P6 should be somewhere in your price range too.
Gibson ES-137C
Parker P8EN
AC Custom Special P Bass