Hey guys (and gals),

I've been playing for about 13 years now, and I figured it's about time to learn alternate picking...

I can tremelo pick pretty well, and play some mean galloping riffs, but what I'm really trying to learn is how to use alternate picking for playing leads and scales and whathaveyou.

I've been working on a minor scale lately, and I can play it pretty clean with downstrokes, throwing in the occasional pinch harmonic, but obviously, I can only go so fast with downstrokes.

Problem is, when I alt. pick it, it just doesn't sound as clean - the upstrokes don't ring out like they're supposed to, at least all the time. On the lower strings it sounds kind of muddy, too. When you're playing a scale with alt. picking, do you mute the notes after they ring for a bit just like you do if you're downstroking? I suspect that's where some of my "muddyness" is coming from - an inability to mute the notes properly when using an upstroke. Any tips on this? Hopefully I've explained myself...

Another way to say it is that at least on the lower strings, it comes out sounding almost like an arpeggio, rather than individual notes in succession - which sounds like sh!t with distortion, lol.
Atmospheric dark metal w/ black and death metal influences:
(My Soundcloud page):

Pestilential Flood
for starters, you need to practice alternate picking so that all pick strokes sound clear and even.
Since you're just getting into it now... this will take time no matter how long you been playing.

RE: muting... I don't really understand your question.
Generally, most people use the pick hand to mute lower strings and the fret hand to mute higher strings.

And sometimes a finger to play a string and mute its adjacent strings at the same time.