Okay, so my band has its first legit show

BUT.... we're opening up for a deathcore band. Now this wouldn't be an issue if I was in a heavy band. But I'm really not.

Just a little background, our singer saw on this local booking agency's facebook that they were looking for local bands to open for an upcoming show. So, obviously he got in contact with them and got us in. And then we found out it was a deathcore show. (Actually they posted the name of the band in the original message, we were just to stupid to look them up ahead of time).

So my question to you is this: How do we deal with people who more than likely do not want to hear our style of music? I'm not an expert on fans of deathcore, but I would imagine they don't take kindly to music that isn't br00tal.

If anyone has any similar experiences, by all means, share them!

thanks,
Dan
Quote by asator
YOU'RE A CUNT AND STUFF LESPAUL1216.

It's okay because whatever, forever
I'm in somewhat of a similar position.
I'm in a post-hardcore band and we're supporting a dance/wedding band along with a pop punk band at a charity night.
It's not too bad for us because we're getting loads of our friends to go and get their friends to go etc.

What type of music do you play? I reckon as long as you don't play pop punk or stuff like that then you wont get that bad of a reaction, just don't expect everyone to lover you. I guess you just gotta bare with it and play your best with the crowd.

Niall
the best I could describe us is post-hardcore, but it would be very melodic and not heavy post-hardcore.

and we are doing are best to get as many friends as we can to come out and support us.
Quote by asator

Just scream instead of sing and you'll be fine.. Lol jk that's tough since the people will be there to see heavy music. Maybe back out of the show and try again?
"For we are nothing without brotherhood and brotherhood is nothing without our brothers" -We Came As Romans