Okay, let me start off by saying that I have very little knowledge of pedals, and effects loops and things like that. I use this gnx guitar processor board thingy that I borrowed from a friend and have been using since I started playing.

So my question is this: Should I eventually look into geting a bunch of separate pedals, or making a pedalboard, or should I just stick with the processor?

Also, do amps have any effect on pedals? Like, will a better amp bring out more tone and whatnot from a pedal and/or guitar processor?

Thanks
separate pedals sound better and you can actually customize your song by deciding which exact pedal you want for each effect
and yeah, better amps sound better with pedals

multi-effects are versatile and give you effects for everything, they're good for everything but great for nothing
Quote by Darkflame
separate pedals sound better and you can actually customize your song by deciding which exact pedal you want for each effect
and yeah, better amps sound better with pedals

multi-effects are versatile and give you effects for everything, they're good for everything but great for nothing

Depends on the MFX in question.
If it's something like a Zoom G1, then that is valid.
If its a high end system like the POD HD500 or the TCE G Major (im not bothering with the Axe Fx), then that is a gross generalization that is also inaccurate.

EDIT: @TS: If you are in a budget and need lots of effects, an MFX is what you need. Else if its just a few you want, take single pedals.

MFX pedals generally do not sound good till your each the 300-400 dollar mark, and the best ones are 600+, with some monsters costing much more (Axe Fx, G System etc).
Different MFX pedals have different pros and cons.
The only thing about MFX pedals that is consistent is ease of use. Ie no tap dancing. Change everything with one stomp.

What genres do you play? Budget? Location? Effects needed?