I've been playing guitar for a 3 years as a hobbyist and have started of thinking of going into the music business in the area of guitars.

I've been using tabs for those years and have been thinking.
"Is reading tabs unprofessional?"

I've had "Google is your friend" syndrome so I couldn't find any answers so I headed here to my favorite site

Any Help?!
???
No. They give you more information that's easier to digest than on with just notes.
You can hit an A note on the 5th fret E string or open on the A. A tab will tell you exactly how to play it.

EDIT: It's still important to read sheet music.
It depends on what you want to do in the music industry. If you can only read tablature, you will not get many studio opportunities, as you will have to read music/chord charts that you have never seen before 99% of the time. If you just want to get paying gigs with a cover band, not being able to read music is more forgivable. I hear many guitarists ask if tablature is a newer concept, but the truth is tablature has been around since the Renaissance, so it is not something that "only beginners use". However, the standard across all musical instruments today is to be able to read notes on the staff.
The main problem with tab is that you need to how what the song sounds like first in order to play it accurately. This could be a problem during session work, as obviously you'll never have heard the songs before. Sheet music doesn't have that problem. You also need to have a good ear for rhythm if you're just reading tab.
Quote by Andron17
Go away, I have an erection.

Bassist for Half My Kingdom.
Quote by Silent Murder
No. They give you more information that's easier to digest than on with just notes.
You can hit an A note on the 5th fret E string or open on the A. A tab will tell you exactly how to play it.

Out of my years of experience (sorta), I've noticed most things like equivalent pitch from playing around, but there are things I can only learn from sheet music.