I have done a little research and have it narrowed down somewhat. Keep in mind I am a guitarist and my bassist is ready to make a purchase. He is a great player, but has never been in a band and doesnt know much about gear.

We play metal, if we had to have a subgenre I would say Heavy/groove/speedy/death/thrash lol...

Just think of bands like The Black Dahlia Murder, Nile, Divine Heresey, DevilDriver, Testament. Those are the kinds of sounds we are looking for. He does really like mids so we are not looking for mid scooped sound.

We do have 2 guitarists.

Now the bass amps in question:

Ampeg 410HLF, PF500 or SVT-3 or 4?
Acoustic B200H
Sansamp RBI or PDDI???
GK 700 RB II
Mesa M6 or Big Block
Laney Nexus 400
Orange Terror

These are all amps I have seen quite a bit of metal guys mention or have heard you tube clips of and was impressed, not sure what alot of them are.

He is looking to also get a semi decent cab and has a budget in the $1,000 to $1,500 for both so keep that in mind as well.

Help us out guys....Thanks
Reverbnation.com/offthewitness
Try some Ashdowns too if you can, they are very similar to ampegs in feel and tone, and should have a decent middle punch, plus do all sorts of various cab extensions.
Man, there's so much variation in amps there. Ic an't really give you a definitive answer without knowing what sound he wants.
Any examples of specific bassists/songs/sections of songs that he really likes the tone of?
What extras will he want/need? (eq options, fx loop, valves etc.)
What cab config will he want?

My only real thought is with that price, don't go for the Acoustic. It's a great amp for the price, but everything else you've listed kicks its arse.
I'm also a massive lover of Hartke, so if you havn't looked at them, do that too.
Quote by UraniYum
Fuck you I'm trying to be caring and shit

Quote by Cb4rabid