Ive been playing the guitar for going on nine years now and i have become an excellent player. I started writing lyrics last august and started trying to sing in like December. I want to play gigs and stuff as a solo project, i feel that i am well prepared to play guitar and that i have adequate songs written but will my sub par voice hold me back?

I know that it never held back bob dylan or neil young but i feel that the times have a' changed (pardon the pun) and people are so used to the perfect auto tuned voices they here from pop music today that there is no place for someone like dylan or young. what do you guys think?
Quote by Weaponxclaws
Well if you want to be a singer, you should probably be a good singer. That's generally a good rule of thumb. You wouldn't want to run for president if you did not know anything about politics... disregard 2000-2008...

Win.
My Gear:
Carvin DC400C
Schecter Damien Elite 7 string
Boss Metalzone
Laney GH120 Head
Rhino 4x12 Celestion
-OG-UG'ER-
Put this in your sig if you've been a member over half a decade!
Quote by Weaponxclaws
Well if you want to be a singer, you should probably be a good singer. That's generally a good rule of thumb. You wouldn't want to run for president if you did not know anything about politics... disregard 2000-2008...

My main goal isnt to be a singer. I want to share music and lyrics ive made with audiences and the best way to share the lyrics is through singing
I think that because people are so used to pitch perfect, roboticised, auto-tuned voices, something a bit rougher and with more character could be just the thing to grab you a bit of attention.
yeah if you think your songs are good enough then as long as your singing isnt actually bad, it wont hurt
"cufk, tish, sips"
-
Kurt Cobain
Quote by Weybl Himself