So im just learning Psychosocial by Slipknot and i cant play the pinch harmonic at the beginning. Ive heard all you have to do is pick and then hit it with your thumb, but that's not working. Does anyone have any tips or vids that show how to do it well?

Thanks
GLEN JENSEN. That is all.....

Proud owner of an Ibanez Wh10V2
You have to hit the string in the right place as well. At some points on the string it is physically impossible to get an audible pinch harmonic. So try hitting the string at different locations.

As for technique, the pinch harmonic is executed by striking the string with the pick, and in the same motion, lightly dampening the string with the side of your thumb. Holding the pick closer to the point will help you with this when you're starting out.

Gear-wise, things that will help the harmonics really ring out are lots of gain and a bridge humbucker. You can get pinch harmonics on the neck pickup without distortion as well, they just won't bring teh br00tz.
Last edited by NakedInTheRain at May 5, 2011,
Not enough detail in that post but,

Use high gain.
You should actually lightly touch the string with your thumb after picking.
The position in which you perform the harmonic may not be "the spot". You see, not every part of the string can give you a harmonic.
Mute all strings that you are not playing, if you let other strings ring out then you will not get a harmonic.
Last edited by Kortez3000 at May 5, 2011,
ive got the gain and the neck humbucker, ill go try what you said for a minute.

bridge humbucker dude. if you have a single coil bridge, and a neck humbucker, the single coil bridge will still help them ring out more. it's more of the positioning of the pickup rather than the output or type of that pickup.
wow I'm a dimwit.... i meant bridge. It sounded like a got a few, but i can't get them consistently. You can bend and do them, right?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5I5O8P-r5Rk