I jam with 2 friends of mine just about every week, one of them plays mostly lead guitar, and the other drums. So naturally i'm the rhythm guitarist since i'm not very experienced with any lead playing.

Once one of us has a riff/idea we will start jamming on it and the other guitarist will usually jump to some lead playing. Now the problem is, it's rather monotonous playing the same 1 or 2 riffs while he solos for a good bit.

So I have 2 questions:

1. What I think I need some help with is chord progressions. I want to be able to change up what I am playing while the other guitarist is soloing, but I don't want to throw him off by drastically changing the key. How would I go about doing this?

2. Also, how would you go about deciding the key of a mostly single note riff?

Any suggestions would be helpful!
Last edited by L.A.P.D. at May 6, 2011,
Quote by L.A.P.D.

Also, how would you go about deciding the key of a mostly single note riff?

Any suggestions would be helpful!

Like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySO-gryuO-c

or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEjgPh4SEmU

or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3sMjm9Eloo

or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IyYnnUcgeMc
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
Quote by L.A.P.D.

Also, how would you go about deciding the key of a mostly single note riff?

It all depends on what notes your using for the most part... Do you know your scales? or are you just playing random notes till they sound decent?

For instance if your riff doesnt have any sharps or flats in it its probably in C major or A minor. It all depends on the notes. Having said that its perfectly normal to throw some non scale sharps or flats in there to spice it up as long as it sounds good.

I personally pick a scale first and then come up with a riff that works with it. whether that by E minor or A harmonic minor or what have you.
Quote by mh1986