I bought a used tube amp a month or two ago, and its my first tube amp so I have no experience with normal tube maintenance. I've been using it at band practice for the past few weeks and it seems that every practice I have to turn my amp up just a little bit more. I never really noticed until yesterday, but I used to practice with the volume at 2, now I have it on 5. When I bought the amp, 5 was extremely loud and nowhere near as quiet as it is now. What confuses me is that there is no tone loss at all, its just quieter.

I don't know how to check tubes or anything like that. But from my research it sounds like I have dirty tube sockets. So my main question is, can I pull a tube from it's socket and check for dirt or build up in the tube socket without needing to bias the tubes afterward? The amp is not self biasing, and it uses 4 6L6 tubes in case you were wondering. Does anyone have any tips??
Gear:
-Mesa Dual Rectifier (3 Channel) with KT88 and KT66 Tubes
-Peavey 6505+
-Roland JC120
-Ibanez Tone Blaster TBX150H
-Mesa 4x12 Straight Cab
-Marshall 1960BV
-Gibson Les Paul Custom
-Gibson Flying V
-Line 6 M13
Quote by xXBansheeXx
I bought a used tube amp a month or two ago, and its my first tube amp so I have no experience with normal tube maintenance. I've been using it at band practice for the past few weeks and it seems that every practice I have to turn my amp up just a little bit more. I never really noticed until yesterday, but I used to practice with the volume at 2, now I have it on 5. When I bought the amp, 5 was extremely loud and nowhere near as quiet as it is now. What confuses me is that there is no tone loss at all, its just quieter.