hey all
ive had my marshall half stack for a year and a few months and im thinking its time to change the tubes. as this is my first time, i was wondering if you guys have any recommendations?

also, do i always change the power tubes and preamp tubes together?
how would i know if it was only one or the other?

thanks
Taylor 314CE
Modulus G2T and G3CT
3 Warmoth Guitars
2 Fender MIA Strats--SRV & JM
Alvarez w/ Modulus Neck and EMG DG-20s
Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 50 w/ 1960a cab
Breedlove AC250/SM12
Gold Tone Weissenborn
Adrenalinn III & FCB1010
ALOT of pedals
you dont have to, no.

get a bias tester so you can set the bias correctly
Power tubes wear out lots faster than preamp tubes. You'll go through several output tubes to every preamp tube.
Power tubes - JJ or SED =C=
Preamp tubes - try to find German, Dutch, British, American or Australian tubes. What you are looking for are NOS (new old stock) or very lightly used with good test results (ANOS - almost NOS). Those old preamp tubes will last 20 years or so, so even if it's half worn out it will outlast a new valve.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
hey thanks for the feedback

@rickyj - Im not changing them just to change them... i can hear cracking sometime when they are a bit louder and im wondering if thats the tubes. ill definitely look more into a bias tester

@cathbard - Wow thank you for the info
How would i know if it's the power tubes that are worn out vs preamp tubes?
and i thought i read that you should change tubes like once a year, but you're saying up to 20 years?? Did I read wrong?
Taylor 314CE
Modulus G2T and G3CT
3 Warmoth Guitars
Breedlove AC250/SM12
Gold Tone Weissenborn
Adrenalinn III & FCB1010
ALOT of pedals