I know it's a really general question, but I just have no clue where to start... So, I figured I try to get the help of all of you awesome UGers! (Would kissing up do me any good? heh heh...)
To help, here is a little a little background on myself:
I am a guitarist, and I'll play just about any style. (I can't think of any I don't play, but I'm sure there is something)
I don't have a band, but I can make reasonably good backing tracks.
I'm in the suburbs.

So yeah, with this incredibly broad question, anyone have any tips for finding a getting gigs? Or just making a bit of money off of my music? I love playing, but I would also like to see it be productive. thanks for any help in advance!
first headbang stack.

Quote by RANDUMB!

I am a guitarist, and I'll play just about any style. (I can't think of any I don't play, but I'm sure there is something)

Klezmer.

That will be all.
MATTERHORN
Quote by RANDUMB!

i stopped reading at that part.
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
Make a lemonade stand.
Schecter C-1 Elite-->BOSS ME-20-->B-52 AT100 2x12

Quote by laid-to-waste
Extremely attractive woman.
extremely attractive
oh baby
EDIT: you're a guy. shit.
...an extremely attractive guy.
extremely attractive
oh baby

E-Paramour of Andrea55
Fap on passers-by and hope that one owns a bar or club and get you in on some "musical" action.
In his house at R'lyeh, dead Cthulhu waits dreaming.

╔═══╗
║  ██ ║
╠═══╣
║╬  •• ║
╚═══╝
Quote by Beautiful
Make a lemonade stand.

keeping this one in mind.

and theogonia777, sorry if that came out wrong. I wasn't trying to sound arrogant, I was just trying to avoid limiting my options.
first headbang stack.

Email venues. That's about it.
dirtbag ballet by the bins down the alley
as i walk through the chalet of the shadow of death
everything that you've come to expect