Okay, I'm just starting to learn how to solo with scales and Johnny B. Goode has me really confused. Okay first of all, Johnny B. Goode is in the key of A# or Bb, right?

Which scale do I use... or can I use both of these (they seemed to fit):

1. A#/Bb Pentatonic Minor

http://www.all-guitar-chords.com/guitar_scales.php?qqq=FULL&scch=A%23%2FBb&scchnam=Pentatonic+Minor&get2=Get&t=0&choice=1

2. A#/Bb Pentatonic Major

http://www.all-guitar-chords.com/guitar_scales.php?qqq=FULL&scch=A%23%2FBb&scchnam=Pentatonic+Major&get2=Get&t=0&choice=1

How come I found out that both of these scales worked to a certain degree? Can someone explain the theory behind it please???

Is there a full major scale (with 7 notes) I can use over Johnny B. Goode?

Also, my last question. What scale was used for the solo from 1:50 - 2:25 in this video of Back to the Future where Marty McFly is playing Johnny B. Goode?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4Cr7kxjSBs
Last edited by AgariRRg at May 8, 2011,
It's usually played in Bb, use Bb minor pentatonic.

However, if you'd payed attention to Back To The Future you'll have no doubt heard the line where Marty says "this is a blues riff in B" - although in all honesty I couldn't tell you if the recorded version in the movie is in actually in B off the top of my head
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Quote by steven seagull

However, if you'd payed attention to Back To The Future you'll have no doubt heard the line where Marty says "this is a blues riff in B" - although in all honesty I couldn't tell you if the recorded version in the movie is in actually in B off the top of my head

I just listened to it and it's definitely in Bb. Haha, I never knew that; just assumed it was in B like he said.
Quick, go to IMDB and post it as a goof!