I am not a newbie, but definetely not a pro....

the way i see it....

MIM fenders are total rip off... at 499 they have the same specs as a squire classic vibe, but the squires have better pick ups and are priced at 349. '

IF i were to spend 499 on an average MIM, I may as well spend an extra 100 and get the players deluxe....

What do you "experts" say...hahahaha.
i say it would be stupid to not spend the extra $100 cuz the deluxe is a pretty good guitar. but in my honest opinion, i would go squire. my old '89 squier is still one of my favourite guitars i've played. it'll be easy to upgrade the squier, and you wont feel guilty for doing so. if you're willing to spend the extra money on the deluxe, you can put all that toward lets say a new set of tuners and maybe a bone nut? or upgrading the pickups if you dont like them. go wild.
A great guitar for the price is the Yamaha Pacifica... be sure to check that out.
Gear:
MXR Super Badass -->
BOSS SD WAZA -->
FENDER CD 140 SCE -->
MXR M300 REVERB -->
TC ELECTRONIC FLASHBACK
ESP EC 401 VF TSB -->
BOSS KATANA HEAD 100 WATT -->
MILF Tease
I can't say that I've ever played a Squire that I thought was nice, infact when I had only been playing for my first couple of years, they actually put me off the Fender name altogether.
It wasn't until I played a friends 60's USA re-issue years ago that I realised not all Fenders were horrible. I recenty bought a MIM 70's re-issue strat and I actually prefered it over the US ones that I tried. They're not that bad of a guitar tbh.