First of all I have to say that I'm very new to all this stuff and I've been trying to teach myself. Forgive anything I say thats ignorant and/or stupid.

My rough idea for a build is a black or white telecaster, with a GFS Retrotron in the bridge

http://www.guitarfetish.com/GFS-Retrotron-Nashville-Vintage-Humbucker-Gold_c_138.html

and no pickup in the neck. Volume/tone controls. Gold hardware, some kind of GFS tuners, and possibly binding and/or a matching finish on the headstock. It would be cool if I could find a tele body with a trem of some kind, but I'm leaning towards hardtail for simplicity's sake. Here go questions (and if I missed anything in what I just described, correct me).

1. If I buy a tele body with the typical spacing, how tough is it to re-route it for a humbucker sized pickup?

2. Besides Rondo and GFS, are there any places to buy cheap bodies and necks?

3. Can a decent binding on the body be accomplished by just taping and painting?

4. How much soldering experience would be needed to just do a 1 pickup tone/volume wiring? Could I do it myself, or would I be better off letting a professional do it?

Thats all my questions for now. Thanks in advance for any and all help!
Telecasters-->Dunlop Volume Pedal-T1M Pearl-AMT Japanese Girl Wah-Line 6 M9-Ibanez DE7-EHX Cathedral-->Mesa Boogie Nomad 4x10 combo
Quote by icanhasgodmode
Check out www.warmoth.com

Probably out of my price range for the most part. Definitely something I would want to look at if my first build goes well though.
Telecasters-->Dunlop Volume Pedal-T1M Pearl-AMT Japanese Girl Wah-Line 6 M9-Ibanez DE7-EHX Cathedral-->Mesa Boogie Nomad 4x10 combo
Seriously, you'd be amazed at the stuff you can buy on eBay. It may sound stupid I know, but if you pick the right stuff and don't buy off people with bad feedback then you'll get some really good stuff.