Hello all, I recently got a decent strat and was messing around with the whammy bar and saw how people get harmonics with the whammy by dropping the strings, getting the harmonic and then bringing the bar back up to make it scream. My question is, I'm trying to do this with a Strat with a typical Fender tremolo with a fuzz factory (my gainiest pedal) and a Vox AC15. I know these aren't the most popular tools for whammy bar harmonics, but I'm trying to incorporate the screams into my blues playing.

Anyways, my real question is that I've never done whammy bar harmonics and I'm still learning, and so I don't know if I'm doing it wrong or if it's because of my gear. Is it possible to casually get these screams with my equipment (and I'm just doing the technique wrong) or am I doing it right (and it's just not possible with my stuff; I understand that a high gain amp and all that stuff would make it easier).

Also, is there preferred string gauge and pickup selection for this (bridge/neck, singlecoil vs humbucker), and is fuzz ok for this or is there another type of distortion? Again, I'm not trying to play metal, just trying to use the screams in more aggressive blues. Thanks!
Epi Sheraton II or MIA FSR strat > wah Q535 > fuzzface > Keeley C4 > Qtron > Whammy > Liquid Chorus > Triboost > Hotcake > BigMuff > Small Stone > VolumePlus > SpaceEcho > Cathedral Reverb > LoFi > MemoryMan > BYOC vibrato > DD-7 > Vox AC15 C1
Not going to happen, standard strat trems just don't have the range of motion for it.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
aw =( oh well i tried