I am wanting to get an amp, more or less designed to give me that...hmmm extreme metal sound, I don't really have a specific tone in mind, but I do want something over the top heavy (which some of that will of course come from down tune/heavier gauge strings). I am somewhat new to guitar, I only have about a year of experience, but I have my fundamentals down (with the exception of scales, working on those as we speak), so even I don't know exactly what I'm looking for. I've thought about getting a Peavey 6505 Combo (600 new, but I'm sure I could find it for cheaper).

A friend recommended a Blackstar HT-20 but I can't really justify paying 500$ for a 20W amp, however my experience in those low power tube amps is very limited, he also recommended some JEt Rock City amp, but based on what I saw it doesn't look like it's the amp for me.

I am open to ideas, but I've also considering a Peavey Valve King 112, however, I hear it doesn't quite give that death metal tone, but perhaps with a decent pedal it could deliver, and I know it's clean sound is a better than the 6505

**edit** I am all willing to to spend the least amount as possibly in relation to a good deal, i think my cap is probably 600 but realistically after i take out my ibanez out of layaway (Ibanez RG with EM 81/85 pickups, with a nice hardshell case for 200$ ) ill probably be only to pull together 300-450 for ampage
Last edited by gravatrax at May 12, 2011,
I have the Jet City JCA100H. It's a good amp. Took me a year of reviewing youtube and every review I could find before actually buying. I play heavy technical metal and it does everything I could need and more.
"For we are nothing without brotherhood and brotherhood is nothing without our brothers" -We Came As Romans
the blackstar ht20 can do small gigs and even larger if mic'd--by all accounts. If you are just playing at home, or parties, it is plenty loud...perhaps too loud for practical bedroom use.