Right so im just doing a bit or research into different amplifiers out there for guitar as im new to this im just seeing whats going on.

I came across tube and valve amplifers which offer have great tonal abilities so im told. Firsty is there a difference between a valve and tube amp? And there were some sites selling kits that you can make you own tube/valve amp and cabinet speaker. Compared to the ones made by say fender or whatever how do they compare in price/quailty of sound and build etc.

The reason im starting this thread is because i like to make/build things as its a good way to learn how things work. Maybe im just wierd be who cares.

Thanks Guys!
Tube and valve amps are the same. Valve is just another way to say tube.

There are plenty of sites that offer kits to make your own tube amps. But it's not as easy as it might seem. Check out the stickies in the gear building and customizing forum.
Gear:
Gibson SG Special Faded
Marshall JCM2000 DSL 401
ok will do thanks mate. what sort of skills would you need to be able to build a kit version?
I don't know of anything resembling something like a "EZ-TUBE AMP" Kit. There are plenty of schematics around the interwebs but you'd probably have to collect all the components yourself. And if you aren't familiar with electronics and soldering I wouldn't even bother - you may end up wasting a lot of money if you don't know what you're doing. At best you'd work your ass off to complete an amp that probably wouldn't sound anywhere near as good as a commercial brand's product. And no offense, but I'm assuming you aren't too familiar with amps right now based on needing to ask whether there was a difference between valve and tube.
Gibson SG Standard
Orange Rocker 30 combo
Fulltone OCD
EH Holy Grail
Quote by bennyboi04
ok will do thanks mate. what sort of skills would you need to be able to build a kit version?