hello!

Ive been playing electric for about 18 months now... I had an acoustic for about 6 months before that but its all about the electric these days. My playing is like 90/10 electric acoustic.

After learning the open chords and some simple riffs and trick my entire focus has been on barre chords and my god has it been rewarding.

I'm a rock/blues guy mostly, but enjoy other stuff also. Play a Gibson LP Studio.

I know the major/minor pent scales, but admittedly dont practice them enough. Should that be the next 'big' focus of my practicing?

Focusing on barre chords for the last 6 months has really upped my playing to a whole new level. Its been really exciting as I feel like I can play any chord progression anywhere and a lot of the open chords (especially C maj) simply sound better with the barre chord.

Was wondering if there was a typical progression followed that makes sense?
he of tranquil mind
hold on, you own a gibson lp studio after only playing a year and a half???? the next logical step would be for yo to start learning maj/min chords and then 7ths(min, major and dominant) also the pentatonic scales on all positions would be a good idea
Get Carl Verheyen's tuition DVD "Forward Motion" and work on everything he tells you, especially the exercise to do with knowing the scales all over the neck and getting away from 'box' shapes.
Plus, learn all the guitar parts in three songs that you really like, even if you think they're too difficult.
I can tell you what my guitar teacher told me to start doing after barre chords: learn the movable 7th chords. After that, learn chord structure and intervals on the guitar so that you can construct 9ths, 11ths, 13ths, augmented, diminished, whatever. You should also know how to play the A, C, D, and G major scales in 1st position, and from their root notes on the 5th and 6th strings.