Hi

I'm going to upgrade my laney VC30's speaker today, which is something i've never done before and this is probably just me over-thinking but i have a few things i need to clear up before i do:

1) the speaker i've bought (celestion G12H30) has these 4 strips of this soft material at the bottom of the box it was shipped in that look like they are meant to fit between the holes for the screws when you fit the speaker. are they necessary, and if it's an optional thing, what impact would it have on the sound?

2) are there any electrical hazards i should be aware of? obviously i'm going to unplug the amp from the mains and unplug the cable from the speaker output while i'm working on it, but is there anything else i've overlooked?

3) the celestion website says the bolts shouldn't be overtightened, and "hand-tight" should be enough, but won't that eventually cause them to work their way out? would "hand tight" plus a small turn with the necessary tool be ok for peace of mind?
Rig Winter 2017:

Fender Jazzmaster/Yamaha SG1000
Boss TU-3, DS-2, CS-3, EHX small stone, Danelectro delay
Laney VC30-112 with G12H30 speaker, or Session Rockette 30 for smaller gigs
Elixir Nanoweb 11-49 strings, Dunlop Jazz III XL picks
Shure SM57 mic in front of the amp
Can you provide pictures of the described objects?

If you do everything you stated, there is no real hazard.

Hand tight in my opinion just means using a screw driver, no drills. On my speaker cabinets I usually tighten them as much as I can. They are probably warning against over-tightening in the case of the speaker cab being made of MDF or other low quality material.
One thing to look out for when mounting your speaker:
Make sure your screwdriver does not slip off the screw head and puncture the surrounds. They punture very easily.
..I was watching my death.
Quote by timbit2006
Can you provide pictures of the described objects?

If you do everything you stated, there is no real hazard.