haha well yeah, i might be jamming or something soon, and i dont know if my 100w peavey amp will do the job, the guitarist told me i should get a head and a cab asap, were mostly just looking to jam in like a garage, or maybe do some decently small gigs. btw im completely new to all these 15x1 and 4x2 or whatever all those numbers make my head spin, im new to all of it, so if you could help me understand it, i'd appreciate it
I think a 100watt amp will be perfectly fine, your guitarist doesn't know what he's talking about. Unless, of course, he has a full stack and expects to be blasting everyone's eardrums off. I'm assuming you meant 4x12 and that just means that there are 4 12in speakers in the cab. 15x1(?) I guess would mean that there's one 15 inch speaker. My old bassist's half stack had a 4x10 which are pretty common.
nahh i was just naming random numbers, i didnt know what they meant haha :P. so say like a 4x5 would be 4, 5 inch speakers in the cab?, haha im self taught so i didnt really learn about all the technical stuff haha :P
Haha I gotcha. Yeah that pretty much sums it up, though I think you'd be hard pressed to find a 4x5. I'm self taught too, you'll catch on. Just do what I did and read musician's friend catalogs every time you take a shit.
okay, thanks alot man , so do watts matter in a cab, or do just the amount of speakers, and the size of them matter for volume?
Well the wattage of the cab needs to match or exceed the wattage of the head you're using, or the amp will EXPLODE. Or something. That's about it, but I really don't think you'll need more than your 100 watt combo. If you're sold on getting a halfstack, I would focus on getting a good head first and then looking at cabs to match. Or you can get them both together as a set