I've been playing for a couple years and have been working on soloing and improv'ing over backing tracks and songs. I know my pentatonic scales pretty well and have taken a liking to use those select few notes in a key to solo over a variety of songs successfully.

However, I feel it's an 'easy' or 'lazy' way to improv over something. It does seem like I'm playing similar licks and a repetitive group of notes sometimes, but even when I break away from the box and try to play up and down the fretboard, my phrases always seem to be restricted by the 'notes that sound good' within the pentatonic scale.

I've looked into modal playing, and it has added some color to some of my soloing, but I feel as if modes are irrelevant to the mostly 'monotonic' songs I'm playing over. In any case, I'm incapable of instantly figuring out what mode to play after each and every chord change in a song.

tl:dr -- In what ways can I branch away from playing the pentatonic scales to make my solos more interesting?
I can't wait till my fro is full grown.
Nothing.

If you aren't able to find meaning and find it easy and lazy, then you missed the point. There are no brownie points for the scales you use, but lots of respect due to HOW you use them. It's what you say, not what you use to say it, that means anything.

I look at the pentatonic as one phase of learning to express one's self. Your wanting to branch out of this, is a natural outcome of developing things to a certain point, but it's unfortunate to judge the horse that got you here, as lazy or easy. If you didn't have it to ride this far, you wouldn't have made it here.

If you want to move on play the major scale. Add 2 notes, the two that can get you into trouble if you dont know what you are doing. Also start playing using chord tones that are targeted every time the chords change. You won't find that to be easy or lazy. Its a lot of hard work.

Good luck.

Best,

Sean
+1,000,000 to Sean.