This is my first time on the Recordings forum, and I'm not very familiar with the rules. So excuse my if there's already a thread like this.

I want to know if there's a way to get rid of that background noise you get when you aren't playing anything.
That sort of weird hissing sound, I don't know what to call it.

I use Mixcraft 5.1 and a Sennheiser EW100 in case you need to know.

Thanks!
Most of the time BG noise can't be resolved without a proper recording room.

One thing you can try and do is in the mixing process roll off the frequencies the hiss occurs at.
I love Prog, +1 for synth solos and songs about maggie thatcher.

Gear:

Geddy Lee Jazz (Black )
Fender Rumble 100 (It lights up )
MXR Auto-Wah (Purple... )
Boss Bass Overdrive (I can almsot sound like Chris Wolstenholme )
What do you mean by roll off the frequencies?

Sorry I'm just a total noob when it comes to recording, haven't been doing it long at all.
he means taking eq and dropping frequencies. By isolating the offending sounds you can usually decrease it. Be careful you don't eliminate the rest of your music though.

But ya without a sound booths and good equipment. A little bit of hiss is gonna be hard to get rid of.

When recording try and get each track as clean sounding as possible. The build of that hiss can be a lot.
Personally i'd add in a noise gate as well as eq'ing out the hissing frequencies just to be sure. EQ should be more than adequate though, i'm just a perfectionist :p
what kind of analog to digital converters do you have?? Is it the stock soundcard in your computer? Are you on a laptop? I would suggest switching your mixer output to -10 instead of +4 if you can you will get more headroom.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
'04 Tony Iommi Signature SG
'66 Harmony Bobkat
Quote by abitofinger