Hello all,

Im a experienced player that would really like to improve my overall playing and knowledge. I mostly play alone, mainly cause im in iraq for a while so i get in ruts. I love blues, rock, metal and such. I can play fairly well, but i definitely need work on my soloing, scale knowledge and so on. I could really use a recommendation on what to practice and when. Such as...do i do theory one day..scales another..a song the next? I can pretty much practice roughly 3 hours a day, its just getting on a schedule so i dont stay in the same spot. Im wanting to learn a ton of different things, blues styles, sweep picking, the whole thing. But i know i gotta pace myself and just get on a schedule. Again i want to state, im not a beginner..ive been playing for roughly 15 yrs.....i just want to thoroughly improve.

Thanks for any advice
I tried doing a schedule and it just made me hate guitar. If you can stick by one, go for it... but if you feel like practicing the C major scale for 1 hour and it doesn't bother you, keep doing it.

IMO though best to play it until you just don't want to anymore, if you have to ration your time-- 30 minutes per technique (pentatonic, sweeps...etc)
My ''main'' practice time is spent on the guitar - practicing techniques, learning new songs, memerising new scales etc. After a few hours I'll take a break, then spend around an hour studying theory, looking at new ideas or writing lyrics for some of my songs. Funnily enough I focus better on theory away from my guitar... guess that's just me.
i thought many about building practice schedules and found the best msic charrt:
1.mechanical parts: a. working on exercises b.covering songs

2.ear work: a.ear training exercises b.listening to music and fin things on them(tone-rhythm type-intervals recognize...

3.music work:making chord progressions-solos-improvising-making music-recording...

4.live play:live playing experience with a band on weekends