Page 1 of 2
So I've been playing guitar for a few years now and am starting to get somewhat serious about starting a real band and gigging and putting out music. Right now it is just my friend and I (both guitarists) but we arent even going to look for any other members because next year we are both going halfway across the country for college so it wouldnt make much sense to end a band that soon. Anyways, for the past few months we have been writing songs together on fridays and weekends, and have maybe 1-2 95% complete songs and 3-4 40-50 percent complete songs, at least as complete as we can get them (the two guitar parts, rough bass, rough vocals, drum ideas).

What I'm getting at is this: Personally, I think I can write songs pretty well with no musical knowledge or theory knowledge. Now over the course of my guitar playing career, I've definitely learned a lot and know, by feel or sense or just thought, what I want to do next with a song and how to go there. I'm just wondering what theory can offer me. I've thought about learning it before, but never got around to it; I read these threads where people spout out "rests" and "intervals" and "scale patterns" and my brain just goes numb.

Some more info: I play rock/alt music that ranges from bands like the Strokes and the Arctic Monkeys to more classic/harder stuff like Queens of the Stone Age and the Foo Fighters. I'm not looking to play like Vai or Satriani, I just want to write good songs that I like and other people like, most likely featuring "simple" techniques like powerchords. I just feel like theory complicates music of this type.

Basically, should I learn music theory?