Hi, my name is Mike. I am 26 yrs old. I started playing guitar when I was 14 or so. At the time I liked Metallica, Megadeth, etc, and eventually guitar music like Vai, Satch, and the like. Well, because at the time I started playing I was really only interested in playing songs from artists I enjoyed I never took lessons or took interest in theory because I didn't even know what that was. I've really only learned playing tabs and improvising by tinkering until I heard what I wanted. I got away from guitar for a few years in my 20's while in school. I have since had a revival of my interest in guitar and am wishing I had had lessons so I actually UNDERSTOOD what I was doing. My question is: how do you suggest I go about learning many of the basics that I missed out on by not taking lessons or learning theory on my own? I am actually a pretty decent player technique-wise, but I lack the foundational knowledge and only know what I am doing based on finger shapes. I want to get to the point where I really understand what I am doing so that I can feel very comfortable in jam situations ad-libbing, and understanding when I learn music what is really going on. I think that would really help me progress and give me more satisfaction while playing - not to mention relieve frustration when I'm trying to do something on the instrument and just don't know where to go with it. I feel like I am stuck. I feel like I have a lot of talent potential that I cannot unlock until I learn basics I missed out on. I've been learning classical music as well lately, and I love playing it, and I often look at the music and wish I could know why certain phrases work over certain chords; or how the composer changed up the feeling in the song in a certain way. Anyways, if you have ANY suggestions at all I'd be thankful!

Mike
Quote by Twist of fate
Put it into paragraphs and try again

Oh wow. What a motivator